Jo’ Burger : Chilled Vibes and Hearty Food

Before becoming a vegetarian I didn’t really eat much meat. The only type of meat I would really eat would be chicken and the occasional burger that usually came with a hangover.. My favourite type would have to have been loaded with cheese and too big to eat without making a mess!

I never really tried veggie burgers beforehand as I believed that the taste just wouldn’t suffice. I then came across a pack of four from LIDL while shopping one day and began experimenting with different sauces and toppings to spruce them up. I became some-what addicted – they were so easy to cook and just a little over €1 for the four of them! But they weren’t REAL, fresh burgers where you can experience mouth-watering flavours.

As I’ve previously stated, so many places are beginning to experiment with flavours and develop innovative ideas that allow veggies to enjoy a meat-free lifestyle with little sacrifice, so I decided to chance it and try one out. After hearing such good things about Jo’ Burger’s meaty burgers I chose to start there by sussing out their veggie alternatives.

The Atmosphere 

As you walk in you feel so welcome and relaxed straight away. The restaurant is set up with long tables and benches each having candles lighting in the centre. I walked through the doors noticing the cosy ambience from outside and was welcomed at the door by a friendly casually-dressed guy.  Copies of ‘Totally Dublin’ were on display at the door for diners to have a flick through so I grabbed one on the way to my seat. I spent the summer in New York and if someone told me I was back in Williamsburg, Brooklyn (known as a ‘hipster’ area) I would have believed them. There’s such a strong laid-back and carefree vibe about the place. Before ordering my food I took a trip to the bathroom and was pleasantly surprised to see that one of the mirrors had been painted to honour David Bowie.

 

The Food

Their menu gives a choice of two veggie burgers (Chickpea, Red Pepper & Coriander and Sweet Potato, Roast Red Onion and Mushroom). See their full menu here: JBTburgermenu

I chose to go for the latter with Maasdam Cheese, Rocket and Jo Burger Relish on top. It was HUGE. The perfect size for an embarrassingly sloppy eat, (probably not the best place to go for a hot date – though they have salads too!). There was a hint of spice that complimented the sweet potato so well and it was just perfect. It was packed full of flavour and wasn’t lacking in anything!

I tried to make my way through it and failed, leaving the bun and a lot of rocket but everything else was gobbled up! After I had finished I stayed for a little while to flick through the ‘Totally Dublin’ magazine. I had seen on Facebook earlier in the day that FM104 were distributing ‘Happy Blue Monday’ cupcakes on behalf of Volkswagen and thought it was a great marketing technique as today was named ‘the most depressing day of the year’ and everyone loves cupcakes!! As I continued to read the magazine, I heard one of the other customers saying thank you intently to the waiter and I didn’t take much notice until he approached me offering a complimentary cupcake! They must have also received a box from Volkswagen, which he distributed to the customers in the restaurant – making the already great marketing technique even better! haha. It was a lovely gesture, I was thrilled!

 

I then proceeded to ask for the bill and was presented with a receipt in an old painted tin. The total coming to €10.45. Taking a second glance at the receipt I noticed that the waiter had his name in the system as ‘Magic Mike’ which nearly made me laugh out loud!

The extremely laid-back, cosy atmosphere with an anything-goes attitude really makes you feel at home.  I really wasn’t expecting anything that great and was really surprised!! Another visit is definitely on the cards! Their numerous options of toppings on the menu really makes me want to go back and sample different varieties, and of course their other veggie burger.

Jo’ Burger also take party bookings which would be great for a get-together with your friends, it’s the perfect atmosphere for it!

 

Thanks again for reading!

 – The Wholesome Veggie x 

 

Leave a comment